How To Report Workplace COVID Violations in California

As COVID-19 continues to impact businesses across California, it’s important to stay up to speed with the laws and regulations put into place to protect individuals from the virus at their jobs. Employers, workers, and consumers are encouraged to report COVID-related business violations to help keep everyone safe as well as protect employment rights. Here is some important information to review about COVID-19 laws in California and how to file a complaint if a business fails to comply with health regulations.

California Employer Obligations to Protect Against COVID-19

In California, employers are required to abide by all local, state, and federal laws and regulations regarding COVID-19. Here are a few important laws, regulations, and guidelines to be aware of:

  • Employers must provide the necessary personal protective equipment (PPE) needed to keep employees and customers safe. 
  • Employers must take measures to prevent infection in the workplace by using disinfectants and cleaning products that have been approved by the EPA. 
  • California employers must provide their workers with up to 80 hours of paid time off for sick leave. This requirement applies to any business consisting of 500 or more employees. The federally mandated Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) offers the same provision of 80 hours in sick leave for businesses that have fewer than 500 employees. 
  • Failure to comply with state and federal guidelines can result in a health permit revocation for 30 days. The business can also be fined a monetary amount for each violation. 
  • Various cities and counties in California also have different fines for failing to wear a face mask, resulting in monetary penalties that increase with each subsequent violation. 
  • In the event a COVID-19 outbreak occurs at a business, it must be reported by the employer immediately.

Reporting COVID-19 Violations for Employees

Employees in California have the right to file a complaint with their employer if they fail to adequately protect workers from COVID-19. Complaints should be filed through the local OSHA office and all information gathered is completely confidential. Under California labor laws, employers cannot retaliate against an employee who issues a complaint with OSHA. Additionally, employers cannot reduce the hours of an employee or fire a worker for requesting sick leave or for inquiring about the safety protocols of the business they work for.

COVID Violation Reporting for Consumers

Consumers who believe a business is not following state and federal guidelines can file a complaint online. Additionally, consumers can report businesses in Los Angeles who violate the state-mandated stay-at-home order by filling out a short form online as well. Consumer complaints can also be filed directly online through the California state attorney general’s website. 

Call Davtyan Law Today For Employment Law Help

If your employer has retaliated against you for filing a COVID-19-related complaint, contact Davtyan Law today. Our experienced California employment law team has considerable experience fighting for the rights of workers throughout California. We will discuss the options available for seeking compensation for wrongful termination or retaliation in the workplace. Call our office at Davtyan Law to schedule a free consultation with one of our friendly team members and get answers to your employment law questions.

Ready To Get Started?

Contact Us Today For A FREE Consultation To Find Out How We Can Help You. We Serve Employees All Across the State of California.

Call Us Today!

(818) 275-5799

logo

Based in California, we focus exclusively on employment law, protecting employees' rights. We handle a broad range of employment disputes including wrongful termination, harassment, discrimination, retaliation, wage and hour issues, among others.

Call Now ButtonCall Now